This farmhouse brought from Bucholz (Aller) was originally built in 1795 after the previous building had been destroyed by fire in the same year. The farm was worked at this time by Jürgen Hinrich Benecke and his wife Maria Frerking. The dismantling and rebuilding of this large two-post house took three years from 1989 to 1991.
Since its reopening in the summer of 1991 the building has been known as “Dat Groode Hus” (The Big House) and has become known as a cultural centre within, as well as far beyond, the town of Winsen (Aller) in the Celle region. A wide ranging programme of cultural events such as exhibitions, concerts, lectures etc offers visitors a variety of experiences.